The former White Star Line terminal was established by White Star agents James Scott in this building which dates from 1830: First and Second class passengers entered via the front doorway, whilst steerage passengers were accommodated on the ground floor.
Passengers were conveyed by tenders from the now decaying pier to the ships which anchored at the mouth of Cork Harbour off Roche's Point. The building housed the Cóbh Post Office and also the Titanic Restaurant, Bar and Gift shop established by a local entrepreneur in the wake of the Titanic movie, who also planned to restore the pier. Unfortunately this business did not thrive and after a short life closed in the middle of the first decade of the 21st Century.
However, the Post Office moved to a new location and the building was restored in 2012 to house the Titanic Experience Cóbh a new permanent exhibition which retells the Titanic story via multimedia presentations and reconstructions, a Titanic Souvenir Shop and on the ground floor a bar and restaurant.